BLOG POST #10: Out-of-Home

15 Nov

As you are walking around campus or driving around Cincinnati this week, pay a bit more attention to the different out-of-home ads that you pass by. Which ads caught your attention?  Which were lame? Which were awesome? Which did you feel were ineffective? How much did you feel that location played a part in an ad’s success?

Share your findings and observations in your comments.

14 Responses to “BLOG POST #10: Out-of-Home”

  1. Thea Corona November 16, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    Aside from large billboard ads for major companies, I find out of home ad’s to possess a certain level of tastelessness. I feel that, and maybe this is largely due to the specific area Xavier University is in, the out of home advertisements can be very “cheap” looking. For example, the bench ads in my local community advertise abortion clinics and personal injury lawyers. Perhaps its these types of ads that have tainted the creativity of the rest. For example, the large billboard next to Betta’s by Xavier, it is always changing and has a ranging archive of fun and cool new basketball advertisements. One of the other most important and effective out of home advertising are highway signs. I find that I am not one to fall victim to these highway signs but many people do while traveling on long car trips. The best personal example would have to be, when driving up 275 and falling guilty to Jungle Jim’s very own exit sign, similar to an airport, or a city! Some can be fun, some can be effective, and some can be just very tacky, and I see no reason why a business would want their face on a bus ad.

  2. Molly McGranahan November 17, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    Coming from someone who’s mother has a phobia of flying and literally drives everywhere (including countless family vacations to Florida), I think that out of home advertising can be very effective, depending on its vehicle. I find billboards to be the most effective of out of home advertising. Highway billboards advertise restaurants off the exits which travelers have the options to eat at, which I am very grateful for because I despise fast food and rely on such billboards for a restaurant that serves actual food on their menus. At home during Cavs games, Oscar Meyer has a very creative way of advertising their products during time-outs of the game. Tiny stuffed hot dogs that are stitched with the Oscar Meyer brand name are parachuted from the upper level to the fans below, and whatever fan catches the toy gets to eat free hot dogs the rest of the game. I am personally not a hot dog fan, but I have seen many fans physically fight over these stuffed animals, so it is obviously a very effective means of guerilla advertising because every consumer enjoys free products. Regardless if you actually are lucky enough to catch a flying hotdog doesn’t matter, because a voice goes over the loudspeaker prior to each round and informs the audience of what will be happening. They then play the Oscar Meyer jingle, so whether or not you yourself caught one, you were still exposed to the advertisement and are aware that the hotdogs everyone is consuming around you are Oscar Meyer.

  3. Jordan MacConnell November 17, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    I know we brought this up in class, but I have to give University of Kentucky a lot of credit. They have been plugging their school a lot lately and their advertisement at the Kenwood mall is one of the coolest things. When looking at a set of stairs in the mall it looks like blue paint has been spilt down them and it reads “Bleed Blue” along with UK’s website. It is a very unique advertisement and anyone near the stairs stops to read it. The last time I was there one girl even stopped to take a picture of the stairs. I have to agree with Molly and say that billboards are probably the most effective for me as well. I do a lot of driving and always appreciate a good and entertaining billboard.

    I do feel the need though to share my pet peeve about electronic billboards though. I hate when you see something interesting and try to read it and then it changes before you even get to actually read it all. I feel like the people advertising on those billboards lose a lot a lot of their potential traffic this way. BMW does have a good electronic billboard campaign though on 71 north, but it is because all the ads are for their company so even if it changes you still see their logo.

    • Nick Tsangaris November 18, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

      You know what isn’t annoying: Spooky Dog and the Teenage Gang Mysteries!!

  4. Jenny Deighton November 18, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    As far as out-of-home ads in Cincinnati go, I can’t say that there are to many that stand out to me. I have noticed that there are many bench ads, but most of them have bad print and just look like a massive poster applied to the bench with some Elmer glue. Some good billboards are the Chipotle ones. They are very eye catching and are quick to get to the point. One type of out-of-home is posters put up in various spots around campus. Because they are placed on poster boards, I am able to see multiple ads at once and pick out which ones I would like to give my attention and interest to. This goes to show how location can play a big part. On a campus, multiple people intentionally look for posters that will strike their interests. Out in the city however, like benches, I believe that people tend to be focused on where they are going and don’t see them, unless the advertisement is very attention demanding (like guerrilla ads).

  5. Samantha Montgomery November 18, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Most of the OOH advertising in Cincinnati is not that impressive. Many benches near bus stops have creepy eyes on them that say “See You Looked.” While I think they have a point, most of the time when I see ads on benches I immediately forget what it said 2 seconds later. There is no recall. The baby carrots billboards on 471 S obviously catch my eye because of their significance in our class, but even they aren’t particularly pleasing to the eye. Billboards in Cincinnati often advertise abortion clinics and lawyers, which might say something about the area we are in. The Xavier billboard on I-75, is yellow and doesn’t really catch the eye of those driving on the interstate. Maybe I am not checking out the right places, but Cincinnati OOH hasn’t really impressed me. Their are some spectacular displays on I-71N on the way to Kenwood Mall, which says a lot about how different boroughs are in Cincinnati and how a hierarchy of social class is set up.

  6. Ralph Fritz November 18, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    While I am usually impressed with the billboard advertisements for Busken, I am underwhelmed by the one I drive by in Hyde Park. It’s a cheap joke with a punchline that’s just small enough to be difficult to read clearly and… clearly forgettable. This company usually has season appropriate and cute billboard ads, but this one falls short. Also, in my senior year I have become completely numb to the chalking on the sidewalks around Xavier. Still capturing my attention (and making me rant to the unfortunate person in the passenger seat) are the baby carrot billboards cropping up all over my usual highway corridor. I also heard a radio ad today for coke that had a narrative about “your coke drinking arm” that I thought was particularly well done.

  7. Ollie Birckhead November 18, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    In terms of out of home advertising, Ohio is mediocre at best. Unlike Spooky Dog and the Teenage Gang Mysteries, which is exceptional in every way. There are a few ads that stand out, the aforementioned and re-aforementioned University of Kentucky ad in Kenwood Mall. The ad is eye catching, shocking and is quick to point out exactly what it is trying to sell—it is everything that out of home advertising should be. Another good example is the Geico plane ads that would circle over 71 that showcased the now famous stack of dollars. The ad campaign, by nature is bizarre and esoteric. By showcasing it in an unconventional area eg: the sky, the attention grabbing strangeness is enhanced which in turn, stimulates the ads effectiveness. The bill boards that pepper the tri-state area are as a whole unremarkable and do little but earn a casual glance, which rarely leads to the sought-after further thinking of the ad.

    • Nick Tsangaris November 18, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

      I actually heard Spooky Dog and the Teenage Gang Mysteries was pretty amazing too!

  8. Sarah Cunningham November 18, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    I think that out of home advertising is extremely effective. It’s impossible to go out of your house and not take notice to everything going on around you. Advertisements, specifically billboards, I think are extremely effective and people notice when they change. For example, I think it was last year that UC had posted a billboard in Norwood on Montgomery Road. Norwood is Xavier territory so everyone noticed immediately when this sign went up. I think it may have been up a week before it was taken down because Xavier fans didn’t want that trash to be promoted in Xavier territory. 🙂

    Another example was this billboard advertising Abercrombie that was posted when I was in high school. Every time my friends and I would pass this nearly naked guy we would always wave. Just this recognition shows how much attention we pay to these huge signs along the highway. And, obviously, we were all a little upset when we discovered the advertisement was taken down.

  9. Nick Tsangaris November 18, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    For me, I really have to focus on finding out of home advertising, not because there is a lack of it, but the exact opposite: It is everywhere. I do have my favorites though. I am a personal fan of the signs on bus stops, because they usually are either for designers that I know, like BeBe, or they are really random ads, like for online colleges or something. All together, they are not really that impressive, completely unlike Spooky Dog and the Teenage Gang Mysteries! I feel like really good out of home ads are usually in bigger cities where companies have a bigger budget to invest. However, having said this, we all know I love my Baby Carrots billboards. Not only are they bright orange, making them very easy to see from far distances, but they effectively use short but memorable phrases to promote their product. They know that drivers do not have a ton of time to study the billboard, so, like Chipotle, they use short and sweet messages.

  10. Ollie Birckhead November 18, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    Nick Tsangaris is obnoxious, but I agree with everything he says. Dr. Maxian, since I posted this well thought out and intricate analysis, PRIOR TO MIDNIGHT, can I get extra credit?

    • wmaxian November 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

      You will have to take that up with your co-creative director.

  11. zach boothe November 19, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    Sorry for being late, my Access Agent needed me to update before I could get on the internet, so here I am.

    One of the coolest/eye grabbing/unique ads I’ve seen is for the Scooter store on Montgomery road by the bowling alley. There’s a huge painting on the back of the building of a woman on a scooter, and I think it’s pretty cool, even if it’s unintentional. The lame ads are the ones on the public benches that say “Hey you looked! So advertise here!” They’re just lame. I guess it’s a decent place to put the ad since people do tend to look at benches. I have also seen advertisements for Spooky Cat and the Senior Citizens Club Mysteries around campus. It it’s pretty eye catching, but I feel it would be more effective if it had Nick holding a cat on there.

Leave a Reply

